04.09.04

What I do.

I feel like doing my own non-trend thing, because people are too lazy to copy me.. I'm putting here a list of stuff I do. It is going to include stuff I do on and off the net, so I'll have headings about stuff like books and stuff.. this should be fun.

School

I go to UNF, located in Jacksonville, Florida.

Work

I work for a Company called Club Demonstration Services, and what I do there is give samples to Costco customers.

Books

Ok, this is a list of books I own.. it is in no way complete right now, but I'll think about working on it..
Inter-Office Male by John Richards: The back of the book claims this book about love in the style of Shopgirl and High Fidelity.. being a fan of High Fidelity.. I don't see how it is that similar... I at least found the main characters in High Fidelity likable.. this book, while having some good points, 3/4 of the time annoys me.. I just finished reading this book again.
World of Pies by Karen Stolz: Very enjoyable book. I always recommend this book whenever asked about books. I have no words for how great I think this book is. I finished this book about a week ago.
Passing Strange:True Tales of New England Hauntings and Horrors by Joseph A. Citro: I adore this book because I love a good ghost story.. I still don't know that I believe in ghost stories, but I find them very enjoyable, especially since this particular collection is set where my parents grew up, and one of the stories actually happened in my mother's home town when she was a young child!! I am almost constantly rereading this book.
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg: Another fine book. It also made me bawl through a good portion of it.. and in fact I don't think I've ever seen the movie based on this book, but I do remember that I stopped reading this book halfway through the first time I read it.. I finished it a month or two ago
A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks: I avoided most of his books 'cause I thought I'd bawl too much..and then I saw the movie based on this book, loved it, and so I figured I might as well try the book.. I love the book even more.. I don't remember the last time I read this.
High Fidelity by Nick Hornby: I love this book. I love the movie based on this book.. I have nothing more to say, other than it has been since before Christmas since I last read this book.
Lady of the Forest by Jennifer Roberson: Ok, I just finished reading this aobut April 4, and it is still a very good read.. it isn't so much a retelling of Robin Hood so much as it is a story of how the legend started.. very cool, very interesting, and my next book purchase is going to be the book that followed this one..
Straight Talking by Jane Green: A very girly book, and I loved it. I also got this book from my sister while I was up visiting.. I read this one before I read Handling Sin
The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc by Loraine Despres: I love this book too.. it sorta switches between the main meat of the story, set in the 1950s and the present story.. A good read
Asking For Trouble by Elizabeth Young: Another of my collection of girly books, this one is set in London.. I think, it has been a while since I read it.. it is a delightful read, and I even loaned my copy to my sister, and recently picked it up from her.
Spin Cycle by Sue Margolis: I LOVE THIS BOOK! Yet another girly read, but the leading girl is a comedienne and well, the whole book is entertaining! I loaned this book to Sarah and recently got it back.
Pure Drivelby Steve Martin: A good, amusing book, that is constantly being read by me.. I generally find something in one of the essays that makes me laugh.
Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman: A good bok and a good movie. It has been a while since I read this book.
The Beekeeper's Apprentice by Laurie R. King: A Sherlock Holmes book, but this time he has a girl as his aide.. Very interesting, very cool book.. I hadn't realized there was a second one, but now I am aware, I shall be looking for it... 'cause this is a damned cool book.
Animal Husbandry by Laura Zigman: I like this book, just like I like the movie based on it (Someone Like You).. the stories are different enough in both, and both are enjoyable.
Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger: I remember the one time I read this book, I was on an 'American Classics' kick, and mom was suprised I'd never read any Salinger, so we bought this for me.. and Mom told me that Salinger lives near her hometown, and when she was little he would come into town and stuff, and they were suprised when he became famous.. I just reread this.. it is a very interesting book, wordy.. Franny and Zooey's family sort of reminds me of the family from The Royal Tenenbaums.. The kids are all geniuses, and when they grow up, they don't know how to handle it all.. I would suggest reading it at least once to anyone.
Full Moonster by Nick Pollatta: a funny sci-fi book about intelligent werewolves.
That's enough of my book collection for now.. I'll update it more laterish.. I also adore books published by Red Dress Ink they have even more of the fun girly thing going on!

Online Stuff

I also spend much, much, much of my time online.. places I go are..

Online Comics

Keenspot: Has many great comics located on one useful page! Some of my favorites are on hiatus,but check out the archives of Elf Life, Framed!, Clan of the Cats, and College Roomies From Hell
Eat The Roses hasn't been working for me lately, but its a great spy comic, and I lub it lub it lub it!
Shadowfall is a sci-fi webcomic, and it has pretty pictures.
WTF Comics is great if you have ever played EQ.. it may be great if you haven't, but I don't have that perspective..
Mac Hall is a great comic, and if you have Morrowind, he has a modification in which you can play as a Moogle!
Penny Arcade Is a cool gamers comic that generally has some sort of joke about gaming news. It amuses me greatly.
Ozy and Millie is a cute comic about a pair of foxes, I think.. that are about 8 years old.. always has an interesting point.
Real Life is a cool look at 'real life' for the comic's creator
Megatokyo is a cool comic as well... about two guys stuck in Tokyo after a gaming convention..

Online Things to Do

The Chatroom at Sillybuddies, I believe it is now.. this is where I met Messes, Panna, Blake, Pyro, Rashka, Kikks, Zali, Newsie, and many many more people.. its fun, and people will be friendly as long as you can spell and you aren't an asshole.
Nationstates, where I am Sneechland
AdventureQuest, a sort of Final Fantasy-like online game.
I check out Ugly Wedding Dress Of the Day fairly often..
You Think has some interesting questions that I answer from time to time
Clumsy Crooks makes me laugh..
I check up on Dating Amy to see how far along she's gotten in her 50 dates..
Random Dumb Criminal Acts make me feel better about myself when I'm feeling dumb..
I am Bored leads you to interesting/fun sites when you are bored! a very useful site for me 3/4 of the time
MysteryNet has fun online mysteries to solve!
Trailers World is where you can check out trailers for movies, new and old!!
I play games at Yahoo! Games as lucifercat, at MSN as lucifercat or loudjump.. I play at playlink as lucifercat, at Pogo as habitual girl.
You Must Choose amuses me with its choices.
I also play on a mud, called Lost Prophecy as a human called Alanna

Movies, Music, Etc.

Ok this is for the miscellaney I can't think of another place for:
Jump is my favorite band, I love their music!
Netflix is where I rent my movies.. I'm not about to put a list of the movies I own and love, because it would be 3 times longer than my book list..

That's all for now, but there will be additions to this post, so come back every once in a while!!