11.04.07

Reading list, deux.

I'm going to give you an update on that long list I made a while back this time..

Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs has been nixed from my list, because I just... didn't get the movie.
Greywalker Was an AWESOME book. Highly enjoyed.
The Memory Keeper's Daughter by Kim Edwards is still on my list, I just suck.
Ditto for The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.
The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova is a vampire story, and I am currently vampired out.
The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls is actually sitting in my house. it may get read.
1491 by Charles C. Man I lost interest in.
Flags of Our Father by James Bradley lost interest again.
Ditto again for River of Doubt by Candice Millard
Team of Rivals by Doris Kearns Goodwin i have heard too many good things about to discount, so it is on the list.
The Tender Bar by J.R. Moehringer still fascinates me, so it is still on the list.
I have heard conflicting reports on Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen, so it is on the list, just because I'm curious.
Abundance by Sena Jeter Naslund - Meh.
Thunderstruck by Erik Larson - Loved his other book. totally gooing to read it.
Ditto for Isaac's Storm by Erik Larson
Marley and Me by John Grogan - I can not make up my mind.
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer Vampire story, currently off the list.
Ditto for New Moon by Stephenie Meyer
Hoot by Carl Hiassen - totally going to read... eventually.
Ditto for Flush by Carl Hiassen
The Book Thief by Markus Zusack - fascinates me, will eventually get read.
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield - heard good things, will probably read.
Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder - Oh god, I read it, it is awesome.
Things to Bring, S#!t to Do: And Other Inventories of Anxiety: My Life in Lists by Karen Rizzo - I read it, I enjoyed it!
March by Geraldine Brooks - eh.
The History of Love by Nicole Krauss - eh.
The Omnivore's Dilemma by Michael Pollan - totally on my list
The Plot Against America by Philip Roth - lost the interest.
Set This House in Order by Matt Ruff - wtf? I dont even remember this book.
The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde - oooh. want to read..
1776 by David McCullough - I read it, found it interesting.
Fluke by Christopher Moore -ooh. forgot about this one.. on my list, still.
The Life of Pi by Yann Martel - I started to read this at work one day.. still on my list.
Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi - I am fascinated by this story, totally going to read it.
Ditto for Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes - Yeah. on the list. still.
Interpretation of Murder by Jed Rubenfield - Yeah. totally fascinating, on the list.
Dark Angels by Karleen Koen - eh.
Apathy by Paul Neilan -yeshyeshyesh.
Microthrills by Wendy Spero - funny, I bet. still need to read (if we have it..)
Population: 485: Meeting Your Neighbors One Siren at a Time by Michael Perry - we don't have this.. but we do have his truck book.. I may read the truck one.. >.>


I am thinking, I should probably let you guys know what I am/have reading as I read it.. y'all might be interested.

Today, I read Sickened, by Julie Gregory.. REALLY interesting bio about a girl who grew up with a mom who faked her being sick... like, she almost got an open heart surgery to figure out what was wrong with her.. kinda scary stuff, and kind of interesting how she pulled out of it, and at the end is trying to help the next generation's version of her.. Anyways. I liked it.. was horrified in places, couldn't believe that the doctors just... took the mom's word for it.. and the girl played along because she'd get hurt if she didn't.. scarily good book.