01.28.06

Sister Hazel/Gin Blossoms

So, tonight I went to a concert. this was like, the culmination of my week off of work, and things are AWESOME. It was a Sister Hazel/Gin Blossoms concert, and their opener was this band, Big 10-4...

The opener wasn't bad at all, because you really cannot go wrong with rock songs featuring pianos. I cannot think of one bad rock song that features a piano... I really enjoyed it, though apparently my friend's sorta-ex thought they sucked. personal opinions and all that. We were making fun of the bassist, saying that he was definitely using his guitar to make up for... something. Mel and Jen thought that he was kinda creepy and eyeing the young'ns in the front row.... We decided that the lead singer kinda looked like Rob Thomas... kinda. a little bit. uhhh... and the drummer? he vaguely reminded us of a young elvis presley, if he were growing up today.. yep.. OH! in the middle of the set, this train of girls just cut in front of us, and the last two (with hugely curly hair) stop in front of Mel. Mel is pissed, 'cause now she can't see! So I grab mel, and pull her in front of me, where we have a pretty direct view of the lead singer and the stage... RIGHT in a break in the music Mel goes "this is great! I can see without Poodles in my Way!" and we all burst out laughing.. she apparently did it intentionally, and as the girls left after the set they were all like "Watch out, poodle coming through!!" and we laughed some more. it was fucking awesome.

Aaand Sister Hazel was kinda cool. Mel and Jen and Brandy seemed to know all the songs, and Tom left in the middle of it, so we were down one...... we bounced around, had fun, learned that the lead singer actually went to UNF for school, and stayed in a apartment complex not that far away.... uhm... they played songs I recognised, but I couldn't tell you what songs it was... yeah... I'm braindead.

The Gin blossoms was weird, cause it took them longer to set up... and they just kinda appeared on stage.. the first two acts had people introduce them... and they played songs that.. well, no one knew.... and it was funny, because we were all pretty much standing in a row, with a little space between us and the people in front of us... and suddenly, this woman appears in front of Mel! she proceeded to stay there, and she REALLY didn't have much space because she was like, humping the dude in front of her while she danced, and her hair was all in mel's face... she kept working her way in my direction, so I just stuck my leg out in front of me... and she couldn't move any closer to me... so instead the people on my other side decided they wanted to stand next to each other... and the scary smelly lady (she was wearing a TON of fucking perfume, and it smelled like shit..) was all bumping up against me when she danced.. so everytime we were encouraged to clap, I would, hitting her a little in the process....(I know, I'm mean..) finally, Brandy couldn't take it anymore, she had a headache and it was making her dizzy so she left too. so it was just Mel, Jen, and I until the end of the concert. It was lots of fun, other than the rudeness, the lead singer kept on grabbing people's phones and singing into them during songs..l it was kinda cool, though we all wondered what it sounded like on the other end. I also had a GREAT opportunity to take a VERY up-close shot of hinm... but I decided against it. what can i say? I also didn't hand him my phone.. I would've called sarah beforehand.. but she probably would've hung up. I know I would've hung up..... He also balanced on the fence seperating us from him while singing a song, which was... interesting....

but we sat and watched until the end and we heard "hey, Jealousy" and then they went off the stage.. our feet hurt, and we were thirsty, so we started to head back out, and then we realized there would be an encore, so we stuck aroiund for the first song of the encore, and then left.. 'cause it was almost midnight...4 fucking hours of rock. we were over it. So, we headed to denny's and chatted over things, and then all headed home for bed.