08.24.05

My Further Adventures

So... uh..Yes! Ok, so Sunday through today.. Sunday, I woke up rather late, awoken by a call from Mel, telling me that the pool was 98 degrees and we were NOT going to be swimming, but that plans had been rearranged, and we were going to have dinner over at their place, they were going to grill some hamburgers and hot dogs. I got up, hung around lazily for a while, then exercised and took a shower, and waited for them to call me back, because they had told me they were going to Wal-Mart, and would call me when they got back to their apartment so that I could join them. They finally called me, and I headed over to their place, and found Brandy was already there, complaining that she was tired (I think we were all still a lil tired). we sat and chatted about random things, and waited for the grill to heat up so that they could start cooking. Chips and dip got opened up and placed in bowls (well, the chips were in bowls, the dip remained in its can), Mel and Jen's parents showed up, Rob eventually showed up... we were all evil and naughty and generally had fun.. Rob told us Chris's gramma had died, but he was still heading over to hang out... chris had to wait for his hamburgers to be cooked, because we had all taken the first cooked ones, and the girls have a small grill... we watched Galaxy Quest, because Brandy had not seen it..the parents left mid-movie, then chris left after the movie, and we sang kareoke.. rob and brandy left not long after that, so it was just me and the girls dancing around their living room singing.. I decided I needed to get home and go to sleep, because my sister and her boyfriend were supposed to be headed my way fairly early on Monday. I finished straightening up, and proceeded to bed fairly early.
My alarm went off at 8 a.m. on monday and I should've headed to school to buy books, but did not.. instead I rolled over and napped for a bit. I woke back up at about 9, and sorta laid in bed waiting for Sarah to call me, which she did around 10ish, and I gave her boyfriend directions to my apartment, and got up and got dressed and waited. As I waited, I played games online and read Premiere Magazine and listened to music.
Sarah and Jason arrived around 1100, and there was hugging and talking and such. Sarah called her friend, Courtney, who we were supposed to have lunch with, and they decided to have Panera for lunch, so Courtney gave me directions to a Panera over in Orange Park, off of Blanding Blvd. We figured it wouldn't have taken too much time so sat around for a little and chatted some more before we left... what we didn't account for was the fact that there was construction happening on that exit, and it took us 30 minutes to get through the exit onto Blanding (as in, we got onto the exit, and 30 minutes later we got onto the road..)... which was ungodly crazy. We got to see Courtney's girl, who has grown up MIGHTILY since last time I saw her, and her husband, and we all sat down and had a leisurely lunch together. it was nice, I don't get to hang out with any of them alot.
After lunch, Sarah, Jason and I all headed back here to my apartment, and we played Trivial Pursuit. They both spanked my hiney, which is becoming a trend, and I DON'T LIKE IT!!!! damnit. I need to play more trivia games. Farking Ficus *winks at Orsim*
Since we were late for lunch, we left ultra-early for Courtney's pinning ceremony (which is why sarah and jason were here in the first place..), and got there over an hour early, so the three of us were going to head over to the Landing but then Sarah and I started discussing this bar that we rememberd going to with Courtney last time she was down.. and we looked down the road, and thought we saw it.. so the three of us all headed to this bar, which was the same bar, and sat down and had drinks. We discussed random shit, as we are apt to do, though one line of discussion involved the fact that Jason quit his job so he could play poker for a living, sorta.. Sarah laid down some guidelines, including the fact that he had to bring in some income, because they couldn't live off of her income, he couldn't be away all the time, and that he couldn't bet their new house. All very reasonable, and all come up with at the spur of the moment when they had the discussion. Jason was drinking slower than Sarah and I, but we all had just two drinks before we decided it was time to go back to the Florida Theater.
We got there and there was a huge crowd outside, with some people practically standing in the streets. As we were looking for Jeremy and his family, Sarah and I discussed my mild thing for Dave, and how it was really OK, since Jason is turning 31 this year and stuff... eventually we found Jeremy and his family, and met his family.. (Courtney's family was unable to make it due some reason), and FINALLY they opened the doors. we went and found seats, and then Sarah and I had to use the restroom, which I found by myself, and Sarah asked where they were.. but got to at about the same time I did.. The pinning ceremony (basically a graduation ceremony for nursing students) was fairly short and sweet, and rather enjoyable. sarah and I were both forced to teary-eyed-ness at one point in the ceremony and yelled loudly when Courtney's name was announced.. after the ceremony, we parted ways with everyone, and wandered over to dick's wings, where we met Mel and Jen, and between Sarah, Jason, and I, we ate potato skins, Onion Rings, and 30 wings.. oh, and we drank a pitcher of beer.
Afterward, the three of us came back to my apartment, and they pretty much immediately went to bed, and I laid in bed for a while, finishing the fifth Harry Potter book before sleeping. I was awoken early the next day by my alarm, sarah's alarm, and Sarah actually getting up. Sarah and I sat and talked while she got dressed, and then vacated my room so that Jason could shower and get dressed without anyone bothering him. They left not that long after, and I sat around for a while.
Tuesday was my first day of school, so I was planning on getting up early and going early... I managed the first because of Sarah, but not the second, due to my own laziness. I actually got to the school at about 1125ish, but didn't manage to park until shortly after noon. My class started at 1215, so I was fairly lucky in this regard. I made it to class on time, and managed this with all my classes. I had a fairly good first day of classes, bought my books with little issues, even though I'm still missing 3 (out of..18).. discovered I have 17 papers that need to be written over the course of the semester and that I can't take my final two courses of my degree during the same semester without the consent of the head of the department (who is teaching one of my classes). So. this should be a "fun" semester for me.