01.24.05

-

Heh. I realized something this afternoon as I was reading the Lindbergh biography and got closer and closer to the end of it... Well-written biographies (or even slightly fictionalized biographies, as is evidenced by World of Pies) can really get me bawling... when it comes for the person the story is about, or hell, anyone that the person was close to (Dr. Alexis Carell in Lindbergh's case) actually does, die, I fall apart and start bawling.. for the last two hours of the reading Lindbergh, I coudln't pull myself together. I had to take a break so that I could rehydrate and attempt to pretend that I wasn't falling apart... I'm starting to wonder why I get myself so involved in books that I know will end with someone's death...

But then again, it is only the well-written ones that seem to get to me... the book before the Lindbergh book, about Emma Goldman wasn't nearly as well-written, and when she died, while I felt badly because she wasn't where she would've chosen to die, I didn't just all-out cry, or even really think about crying... I just shrugged and went on to reading the Lindbergh book... So I say that I shouldn't give up on a whole category of books just because the good ones make me want to cry.. I just need to pick and choose my times at which I am reading the ones that make me bawl so that I don't read a long string of them at a time....

But then again, thinking about it.. a good cry is really what I can use from time to time... and I really do appreciate these well-written books over the stupid romance novels I usually read... it gives me a good reason to have puffy eyes and think on depressing things....