31 March 2003

minor mom rant

Kinda funny. I was planning on this entry being about my mother, and when I went in to do my opening tag, "MoM" is what I wrote.

Ok. So I admit this one is about my mother. Why? Because I don't think I've bitched about her enough recently. I've bitched about my roomies, and other stuff.. but not her.. not saying she deserves it, but also not saying shes doesn't. I talk to my mom pretty often. I wouldn't say she keeps a tight leash on me, because she definitely doesn't control what I do.. but she attempts to have a very large hand in it. For example, she and my father aren't very happy I moved to Jacksonville when I did.. I still get snippy comments and dark looks when I'm around.. Its not as often as it used to be, in fact it seems almost like she's getting proud that i'm not around... even though I'm embarassingly unemployed and not attending school.. maybe she's happy with my ability to handle myself monetarily... or perhaps she's finally getting over it. Who knows? She's kinda trying to elbow me into living alone, which I don't know that I could handle, but at the moment am at least willing to try because of roommate issues. She also likes to worry too much about stuff she doesn't really have to worry about in other people's lives, like the fact that I had the habit of being minorly late to work, I always got told "I'm amazed they haven't fired you yet for tardiness!" and that was pretty much my only sin at the store.. I'd show up at max 20 minutes late. She doesn't just do it to me.. she freaks out at minor things my dad and sisters do too.. she needs to relax a bit.

You know.. if my mom were my age, I don't think I'd be friends with her. I'm not saying I'd hate her, but she just isn't the type of person I like having around me as friends. *shrugs* oh well. I dont have to deal with her on that level, so I shouldn't worry about it... it was just a random thought I had today while I was wandering in cyberspace.

And yet.. she has moments where she can be the coolest mom ever. She deals with most crises well, she will almost always give money if its desperately needed (as such is the case with my car at the moment) and unless it doesn't get to be a regular thing, like its become with my oldest sister, she doesn't complain. I can be wandering around, thinking my mom is such a bitch because of various reasons including that she yells at me for the smallest issues that have already proven to be ok, and then she'll go and tell me that even though she made me promise to pay for the tickets to all the shows at the King Center this year, I don't have to pay for them. at all. Oh, and forget about the $500 loan she floated me in December. She's cool on other things too.. amazingly enough, I think she's become proud that all three of her daughters have pierced tounges, and is A-OK by my navel and tragus piercings.